ECZ Sets Dates for Roan and Bahati By-Elections


The Electoral Commission has set April 11th, 2019 as the date for the Bahati and Roan Constituency by-elections.


The elections will also be held on the same date in seven other wards, Chinyanja Ward of Kabwe District, Makunku Ward of Itezhi-tezhi District, Chilyapa Ward of Mansa District, Lengelengenda Ward of Chavuma District, Mfinshe Ward of Mungwi District, Muyondoti Ward of Mitete District, and Muchinga Ward of Chama District.


The by-election for Bahati and Roan Constituencies were triggered following the expulsion of incumbent Bahati MP Harry Kalaba, and the crossing of the floor by Dr Chishimba Kambwili to the NDC.


The vacancies in Chinyanja Ward, Makunku Ward, Chilyapa Ward, Lengelengenda Ward, Mfinshe Ward, Muyondoti Ward and Muchinga Ward are as a result of resignations and death of councillors.


The polls will take place from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours.

Open ZambiaComment