Beyonce reveals African stars for new album

Beyonce has released the track list to the album she has produced that features in the Lion King remake and the track list reads like a who’s who of top African Musicians.

Nigerian singers Tiwa Savage and Mr Eazi both perform the song Keys to the Kingdom, with the latter also appearing alongside fellow Nigerians Tekno and Yemi Alade on Don't Jealous Me.

Burna Boy, also Nigerian has a solo track, Ja Ara E, while Cameroonian artist Salatiel appears alongside Beyonce and Pharrell Williams in Water. Other African based artists include Nigeria’s Wizkid, Ghana’s Shatta Wale and South Africa’s Busiswa and Moonchild Sanelly.

When Beyonce first announced the project last week, she said it "was important that the music was not only performed by the most interesting and talented artists but also produced by the best African producers", adding that "authenticity and heart were important to me”.

The album entitled The Lion King: The Gift, is to be released on Friday, features four new solo songs alongside collaborations with Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell Williams, Childish Gambino, Beyonce’s daughter Blue Ivy and more. 

It is separate from the soundtrack to The Lion King, though the Beyonce song Spirit, which incorporates Swahili lyrics, appears on both.

Open ZambiaComment